Special Awards

The George Abbott Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts: Awarded to an individual (or team) who has contributed significantly to the artistic and cultural development of the region. The award may be given for accomplishments within the year, or for a lifetime.

The Vinnette Carroll AwardFor significant achievement in advancing the cause of diversity, equality, and inclusion in South Florida theater. The inaugural winner of this award in 2022 was Marshall L. Davis, who has served for nearly 40 years as managing director of the African Heritage Cultural Arts Center (AHCAC) in Miami’s Liberty City

The Charlie Cinnamon AwardHonors an individual who contributes significantly to the support of the arts in South Florida and to the Carbonell Awards program. Previous Cinnamon Award winners include longtime critic and Carbonell judge Hap Erstein (2022), the Broward Center’s Director of Marketing Jennifer Sierra-Grobbelaar (2019); Tony Finstrom, playwright and founder of the Silver Palm Awards, (2018); and longtime arts patron and Carbonell judge Jerome J. (Jerry) Cohen (2017).

The Ruth Foreman AwardRecognizes contributions to South Florida theater development by an individual or group, for singular achievement and/or career contributions. Recent Foreman Award winners include Teresa María Rojas (2022); The Amparo Experience (2020); Juggerknot Theatre Company (2019); Nicole Stodard (2018); and  Florida Children’s Theatre (2016).

The Bill Hindman AwardHonors significant, long-term contributions to the region’s cultural life and onstage career achievement by performing artists based in South Florida. Recent Hindman Award winners include Margot Moreland (2022);  Barbara Bradshaw (2020); Harriet Oser (2015); and Don McArt (2013)

The Howard Kleinberg AwardHonors an individual or organization for contributions to the health and development of the arts in South Florida. Recent Kleinberg Award winners include Andie Arthur (2022); Deborah Margol (2018); Christine Dolen (2015); and Iris Acker (2014).

The Bill von Maurer Award for Theatrical ExcellenceHonors a theater company that exemplifies excellence for the totality of its programming: productions, educational outreach, developmental programs, and audiences served. Previous von Maurer Award winners include Theater Lab (2022);  Palm Beach Dramaworks (2020); City Theatre (2015); Maltz Jupiter Theatre (2011); and Actors’ Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre (2007).